The 'How to Build a Water Ski at Home' Thread

AdamCordAdamCord Posts: 533 Open or 55K Rated Skier
edited November 2014 in Skis Fins Bindings
I was talking with @Horton and I told him that this winter I'm going to try and build some skis with a new technique in my garage. He suggested I post about it and that lead to me doing an entire How To / DIY ski build thread. So what I'm going to do is try and document the process here as I do it.

For all the people who don't know who I am I'm an engineer that used to be in the watersports industry designing / building skis. I started really skiing competitively in college at Purdue in 2002, and have been obsessed ever since. My tourney PB is into 39 @ 36mph so I'm by no means a "pro" skier, but I try and get after it. After getting a real job I tried to just "ski" but I've found that I can't stop playing with ski shapes, fins, bindings, etc.

I find it surprising that more people aren't experimenting with their own slalom skis. With all the DIY / Maker / 3D printing type stuff going on more and more people are building complicated products at home. There's even an entire forum dedicated to DIY snow ski building.(skibuilders.com) The only other "home" slalom ski builders I know of are @eleeski and @adamhcaldwell. I'm hoping that by showing in detail how to build a high quality and high performance scratch built ski at home I can inspire more people to get into the hobby. If nothing else this might take some of the mystery out of what goes into designing and building a slalom ski.

It's turning to winter up here in NY so I'll hopefully have time to get this project done fairly quickly. My wife is about a week away from popping out our first kid so that might slow me down a bit but I'll do my best!
ski6jonesTylerRgsm_peterskialexskidawgJWebSkiCamWishbbirlewjmvana1MattPSkoot1123rabSkiJaybf`jipster43kstateskierBulldogmmosley899NickDzyokes

Comments

• thagerthager Posts: 3,931 Mega Baller