Boat Wake / Weight

netwindernetwinder Posts: 10 New Baller
Hello BallofSpray forum,

I'm fairly young - 17 to be exact. I've been skiing for the past 4 years, and I'm "ok" but always looking to improve.

When I was younger and weighed closer to 100 - 120 lbs I would ski behind a small fishing boat we had, it pulled me fine, and it had a very small wake. However in the last couple years growing has caused me to grow in weight, i'm now in the spectrum of 130 - 140 lbs and the fishing boat can't pull me anymore.

Recently we did get a larger boat, its a Glastron gt185 with the 190 hp 4.6 liter mercruiser v6 engine. Its a great boat don't get me wrong, however I skiied behind it for the first time and wow it was quite the shock - sometimes when I tried picking up speed to cross the wake I would catch air coming off of the end of the wake.

My concern is the boat weighs close to 2500 lbs, and the boat isn't designed to be a ski boat. It does have a substantial wake - however It could be because the driver at the time wasn't trimming the boat properly (I could be very wrong there). I do have a few questions
  • How should I ski behind a boat with a larger wake?
  • How should I size the tow rope? How long should it be? How do I find this length?
  • General tips for getting over the wake without having to get off the edge of the ski?
Thank you for your time :smile:

• IlivetoskiIlivetoski Posts: 985 Crazy Baller
    Welcome! I'm not too much older than you, 21, and started on this site around your age. Anyway, the best advice for not getting air is keeping the handle in, shoulders square to the boat, and most importantly SOFT KNEES. They will act as shock absorbers and launch you across the wake
  • IlivetoskiIlivetoski Posts: 985 Crazy Baller
    Length should be around 60 feet for the tow rope
  • netwindernetwinder Posts: 10 New Baller