Should Rule 10.03.C include exit gates?
10.03 A Miss
C. In a Class C or below tournament a skier who misses their entry gate on their first pass, but goes on to complete the remainder of the pass, may continue to the next pass or accept a score of zero. If the skier completes the next sequential pass (or opt-up pass), then he shall receive credit for both passes and be allowed to continue. However, if the second pass is not fully complete, then the score shall be zero.
We had a situation in a tournament where a skier turned for 7 ball on their opening pass.
They realized their mistake and tried to get back to the exit gates unsuccessfully.
We allowed the skier to ski the next pass while we deliberated if the rule applied only to entry gates or to both gates.
The consensus was that we applied rule correctly (the skier was scored with 6NC), but many felt that it should be applied to both gates.
Not sure how to deal with a long link?