Shallow Water

Justin_CJustin_C Posts: 116 Baller
I did a search and didn't see much of the sort come up but I apologize if there's already a thread on this but we just put a new course in on a river system that is affected by roughly 18" of tide. At low tide a couple of my turn buoys can get as low as 4.5 feet. Just wondering what people consider too shallow? I know some man made lakes are pretty close to this depth but what are people's thoughts on the matter? Also, how would a ski react differently in shallow water as opposed to deep water? The depth here can go from 4.5 feet at 2 ball to >8 feet at 3 ball.

Comments

• shansen345shansen345 Posts: 45 Baller
    I'm no expert (only really spent time at 2 different ski lakes), but 4.5 sounds slightly shallow. Not insanely shallow, but shallow. Although, I have seen videos of people wiping out and standing up after with half their body out of the water...
    skihart
  • B_SB_S Posts: 164 Solid Baller
    I wouldn't worry about 4.5'. 3' and less is where I get nervous.
    GarThan_Boganskialex
  • MISkierMISkier Posts: 1,860 Mega Baller
    4.5 is OK. I wouldn't like it under 4 feet.
    The worst slalom equipment I own is between my ears.
  • IlivetoskiIlivetoski Posts: 971 Crazy Baller
    Our lake has plenty of spots under 4 feet and no issues
    [Deleted User]pumpinpete
  • keithh2oskierkeithh2oskier Posts: 295 Solid Baller
    4.5' is plenty deep at the buoy. Just make sure your shore is far enough that in case you fall with outbound trajectory you don't hit shore.
    Justin_CMISkierRazorRoss3
  • scotchipmanscotchipman Posts: 3,658
    If the bottom is hard 4.0' is as swallow as I would go, if the bottom is soft you can go shallower. I have skied turn balls as low as 18" with a soft bottom.
    - President of the Utah Water Ski Club
    - Crypto Investing pays for my water ski addiction
  • Justin_CJustin_C Posts: 116 Baller
    Soft mucky bottom. Holy crap, 18"?!
    Horton