Greatest ball 6 ever

andjulesandjules Posts: 622 Crazy Baller
edited August 15 in Videos & Photos
Sandro Ambrosi (Mex) at the World Games
RazorRoss3MuskokaKyJordanDaveDjetpilotg4swerveitAlvin_Neffaupatkingsmalor

Comments

  • andjulesandjules Posts: 622 Crazy Baller
    edited August 15
    Yes, Mapple was great at those slides, but I never saw him bounce into the air like this guy.
    p.s. @MattP is there a way to embed that video in my post?
  • Texas6Texas6 Posts: 2,115 Mega Baller
    That's fantastic. @MattP, curious how you judged that at 5.5? His ski appeared outside of 6, did he miss gates?
    Daryn Dean - Lakes of Katy, TX
    ***Robbed out of Hundreds of Panda Worthy Posts***
  • liquid dliquid d Posts: 796 Crazy Baller
    no exit gates...score 5.5
  • MattPMattP Posts: 5,880 Moderator
    @andjules I fixed the video in your post.
    @Texas6 rounded 6 but didn't get to the buoy line before the exit gates.
  • MuskokaKyMuskokaKy Posts: 131 Baller
    sweet vid. wasn't THAT far off from making gates either. great dock story
  • keithh2oskierkeithh2oskier Posts: 295 Solid Baller
    He missed the exit gates by like 15-25' If you look right as he is crossing the wakes back you can see them.
  • MISkierMISkier Posts: 1,861 Mega Baller
    Even if he had made the gates, I believe the score is 5.5 once he leaves skiing position - even if it is eventually regained.

    The definition of skiing position always perplexed me. It would seem you would violate it each time you jumped the wake and lost contact with the water.
    The worst slalom equipment I own is between my ears.
  • klindyklindy Posts: 1,912 Mega Baller
    @MISkier if he had made the gates it would have been 6. You are incorrect about "once he leaves skiing position - even if it is eventually regained".

    Rule 8.06 states "If the skier does not lose possession of the tow line, has at least one ski on at all times, and ultimately regains skiing position, there has been no fall."

    Keith Lindemulder
    AWSA Vice President
    MISkier
  • klindyklindy Posts: 1,912 Mega Baller
    @rico you're right, IWWF rules apply. Even so, the skier was "ultimately able to regain control", he never lost possession of the tow line, he's riding forward with a ski on his feet, and his weight is entirely supported but his ski. That said, no fall occurred and he score would be 5.5 because he didn't get back to the boat guide buoy line before the exit gate.

    Keith Lindemulder
    AWSA Vice President
    MattPskialex
  • MISkierMISkier Posts: 1,861 Mega Baller
    @klindy, I totally zeroed in on the definition of skiing position and neglected to read the definition of a fall directly above it. Thanks for the reminder.
    The worst slalom equipment I own is between my ears.
  • klindyklindy Posts: 1,912 Mega Baller
    edited August 15
    @rico - if they got back to the buoy line before the gate the score would have been 6 (at least SHOULD have been 6). If they went thru the gate, the skier continues to the next pass.
    Keith Lindemulder
    AWSA Vice President
  • GloersenGloersen Posts: 647 Crazy Baller
    phenomenal effort!

    @rico - is that a trick question? Doesn't look like an AWSA approved towboat - no US sanction; score 0
    stå løpet ut
    Mateo Vargas
  • Texas6Texas6 Posts: 2,115 Mega Baller
    I believe that's the boat we all discussed last week manufactured out of Europe. I do believe it to be certified
    Daryn Dean - Lakes of Katy, TX
    ***Robbed out of Hundreds of Panda Worthy Posts***
  • John BrooksJohn Brooks Posts: 270 Crazy Baller
    I hurt just looking at that amazing feet!!
  • bigskieridahobigskieridaho Posts: 575 Crazy Baller
    Beast
  • keithh2oskierkeithh2oskier Posts: 295 Solid Baller
    My shoulder dislocated just watching it.
  • BraceMakerBraceMaker Posts: 1,821 Crazy Baller
    Finally got to see the boat everyone was discussing. Looks like a tug going down the course.
  • GregHindGregHind Posts: 249 Baller
    My understanding is that the skiing position rule came about because of Brett Wing. From memory, he was slalom skiing in a top tournament and fell off around 5, tumble turned and completed the course. @Edbrazil may remember better. Brett actually completed the run but there was an argument from some that he was not in a skiing position. I saw video and it was amazing that he had time to tumble turn during a 35? off run without missing a buoy. By the look of the rule today, it seems the powers that be agreed!
    Here is a video of him in action (unfortunately not the tumble turn in question but I think that is on the video you can still purchase Waterskiing with Brett Wing). That video blew me away when I first saw it. I had no idea those things could be done. And the instructional bits were brilliant. "To barefoot backwards, start on step off ski, turn around backwards, increase boat speed, step off". If only it was that easy for everybody else!
    https://youtu.be/9uvffZb14_g

Sign In or Register to comment.

Not sure how to deal with a long link?