Thinking about my deep water start

vtmechengvtmecheng Posts: 419 Crazy Baller
I've been doing deep water starts for about 30 years and haven't changed much. About my only change is that I let myself get rolled over the ski a bit more instead of stupidly fighting the boat. Lately I've had two failed attempts that resulted in the handle popping into the ski. I've looked hard at the ski and it looks fine but now I'm worried the next will damage the ski.

This got me thinking, how could I improve my starts. One small thing I've noticed is that I put the rope in the right side though I'm right foot forward. Could this be a problem with the handle pop? Any other ideas are welcome.

Comments

• BraceMakerBraceMaker Posts: 3,389 Mega Baller
    That's super weird about your rope to right RFF.

I stopped fighting the boat when I figured out that I could push my hips up to the handle way earlier in the pull than you'd expect. Sort of the stack version if a deep water starting.
    MuskokaKy
  • Ed_JohnsonEd_Johnson Posts: 2,006
    First, rope on the left side of the ski for RFF. Suggest telling the driver "IN GEAR", this will start a little drag that will straighten the ski out. Next tell the Driver "OK" or Hit It, take a deep breath, knees towards chest, and when the pull comes on push your right foot forward to resist the pull, which also places the fatter part of the ski in front of you and helps to pop you up out of the water.
    Ten run the course 6 times, get in the boat, and have a cold IPA !!!

Loving the new ZO Rev. S Plus Mode C3+
    WaterSkier12DW
  • Stevie BoyStevie Boy Posts: 1,888 ★★★Triple Panda Award Recipient ★★★
    @BraceMaker I am also RFF and start with the rope on the right , the other side makes it difficult for me, the downside of putting the rope on the right is that it chews your hadle rope up.

"Another Ball Bites The Dust”

• lpskierlpskier Posts: 2,448 Mega Baller