For those working perfecting stack position

lkblkb Posts: 568 Baller
I’ve been skiing for a 18 yrs. At my peak I got through 35 at 34mph pretty often, even though I have always skied in a jackknife position.
I know now I need to learn to get stacked properly.

I use a reflex front and a rtp. Today was the first time ever that I have really really tried to get my pelvis over my front foot with a lot of ankle bend. It was a scary feeling but pretty amazing how high I could get on the boat on my gate pullout with little effort. What I really noticed was how much my back heel lifted off the ski. Is this normal or does it just mean my ankle flexibility is not good?
RAWSkiMJ1jercranerodecon

Comments

• WishWish Posts: 7,675 ★★★Triple Panda Award Recipient ★★★
    edited July 3
    I'd say normal. Which is why many pros have gone back to RTPs. Mobility to seamlessly move forward on the ski is a good thing.
    >>> 11.25..a different kettle of fish. <<<
  • HortonHorton Posts: 26,946 Administrator
    @lkb be careful about that heel lift. Often skiers fall back when they try to do that. I coach two feet flat on the ski with even pressure. Remember hips back is LITERALLY more back knee bend then front knee bend (if both are flat on the ski).

There are some elite pros that do what you are saying but I think it is a SUPER hard skill for most skiers + I need the strength of both legs at the wakes.

As far as the gate pull out - I do lift my heel a bit but that is the only place.

Support BallOfSpray by supporting the companies that support BallOfSpray

Barts ★ Connelly ★  DBSkis ★ Goode ★ Hobe Lake ★ HO Syndicate 

MasterCraft ★ Masterline ★ MOB ★ Performance Ski and Surf ★ Reflex ★ Radar ★ Stokes

• elrelr Posts: 264 Mega Baller