Best approach for improvement

Buoyhead69Buoyhead69 Posts: 79 Baller
I will have limited time on the course this year thanks to our new baby boy so here's my game plan; feedback will be appreciated. My PR is 2 balls at 28' off, 34.2mph. I've skied 3 times this year & I'm jumping right into the water at that speed & line length, no warm up, no running all 6 at slower speeds/longer lines. I'm focusing on fundamental form/technique, good gate, proper pull & body position. And... not being stupid & getting hurt. I got a couple good looks at 3 ball yesterday but didn't feel wide enough & I don't want to ski over the ball, turn an ankle or whatever. I will add, to me this is not boring. My goal is to run 28' off at tournament speed & I don't logically see how skiing slower speeds/longer lines will prepare me for the chaos (for me at least, I'm still a bit of a rookie) that occurs at 34.2mph 28' off. Again, I'll have a lot less time on the water than last summer so the "warm up runs" are also a time suck. We have a 2 year old little guy too & I'm looking forward to the days when skiing will make me a great dad instead of a tad bit selfish lol.

Comments

• Stevie BoyStevie Boy Posts: 1,919 ★★★Triple Panda Award Recipient ★★★
    edited May 2017
    For me a Rookie move, should run a couple of 22off
    #1 To loosen off the muscles and let some of that muscle memory have a chance.
    #2 You may end up running your 28off, but is it just going to feel rushed and out of control.
    #3 Thinking you do not want to be stupid and get hurt, tells me that you are already skiing defensively, this will stop you skiing your best.
    #4 Good position and technique comes from running passes, bulids ski fitness, less chance of crashing.
    #5 Don,t bury your head in the sand, preparation is the key to the next pass

"Getting Harder/Getting Positive”

• ski6jonesski6jones Posts: 946 Mega Baller