Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Anyone have this happen? Prop help

Mike GileMike Gile Posts: 314 Crazy Baller
Driving home the other day and a blade fell off my prop. Didn't hit anything but looks like a fracture had been growing. Crazy loud and shook like crazy. Fortunately I was close and could limp back in. No damage to the hull.

I have a 2006 Mastercraft tournament team boat with the 1.26:1 that came is spec'd with a 13.7x15 splined prop. They no longer make such a beast and was wondering what recommendations were out there for this boat. The dealer recommended a 13.9x14.25.

Thoughts?

Comments

• Chef23Chef23 Posts: 5,961 Mega Baller
    I have seen it happen with stainless steel props but not nibral. You are lucky there was no hull damage. My friend's boat threw a blade and damaged the hull.
    Mark Shaffer
  • ConorConor Posts: 80 Baller
    Call Eric at OJ. He will hook you up!
    Bill22MattPALPJrjdk99
  • UWSkierUWSkier Posts: 1,194 Mega Baller
    Whoah. Definitely the first CNC prop I've ever seen do that. Was that prop ever repaired after a strike on something?
  • Mike GileMike Gile Posts: 314 Crazy Baller
    No strike or repair that I am aware of. I bought the boat in 2010 but don't know if there was work before that. Looked clean and no damage to other blades.
  • GarGar Posts: 311 Baller
    I had that happen on my 1982 Ski Nautique was scary did not hit boat thank goodness.
    Thanks @Mark_Matis! I was unable to find one in my searching. Everything worked well before the fail and I'd prefer not to change unless there was something better out there.
  • jdk99jdk99 Posts: 96 Baller
    @MikeGile, literally just happened to me last week.

Ordered a new one from Eric at OJ Props and they took a look at the old one and were very fair. Give Sue a call and she will help you out.