Stance: Skiing vs Surfing

fu_manfu_man Posts: 511 Crazy Baller
I went surfing earlier this week. (The proper way. At a beach, not behind a boat.) It was awesome! I ski RFF and ended up the same way on the surf board. Didn't put much thought into it, that's just the way it happened. Apparently this is "goofy-footed" in the surf world. It worked pretty well for me. The direction of the wave meant I was on my toes rather than on my heels which felt pretty automatic.

In skiing the front foot dominates. In surfing apparently this is not necessarily the case. I could be wrong about this; I'm a complete noob at surfing. For those of you that surf, do you ski and surf with the same foot forward?

Comments

• Chef23Chef23 Posts: 6,066 Mega Baller
    I don’t surf but I snowboard and grew up skateboarding and I do those LFF the same as I ski.
    Mark Shaffer
  • oldjeepoldjeep Posts: 3,885 ★★★Triple Panda Award Recipient ★★★
    Ski, surf, wakeboard and snowboard left foot forward. Having your right foot forward is goofy no matter what sport you are doing 😁
    Chuck P
    Not a mechanic but I play one at home
    Shark503Kento
  • lakeaustinskierlakeaustinskier Posts: 398 Crazy Baller
    I surf LFF same as I ski. Much like you I didn't think about it - I just did it. IMO when I use my upper body with either sport - bad things happen. I also find that with surfing I need to be more aware of an actual heel-side and toe-side.
    Ted Thomson, Austin Texas, Aquaplex
  • MISkierMISkier Posts: 3,439 Mega Baller
    Water ski LFF. Snowboard RFF. Surf RFF. Skateboard LFF.
    The worst slalom equipment I own is between my ears.
    Kimbymon
  • JetsetrJetsetr Posts: 497 ★★★Triple Panda Award Recipient ★★★
    RFF for everything....
    Kimbymonmike_mapple
  • Bookm_danoBookm_dano Posts: 102 Baller
    Learned to surf first.. LFF; Slalom skiing several years later, did it same way.