Distance From Center - Episode 38 ( Moomba )

HortonHorton Posts: 31,482 Administrator
edited March 2020 in Videos, Photos & Media

Support BallOfSpray by supporting the companies that support BallOfSpray

Connelly ★ DBSkis ★ Denali ★ Follow ★ Goode ★ GiveGo ★ HO Syndicate ★ MasterCraft

Masterline ★ Performance Ski and Surf★ Reflex★ Radar★ Rodics OffCourse ★ Stokes

 

ALPJrBruce_Butterfield

Comments

  • slowslow Posts: 510 Crazy Baller
    Awkward time for the sport when you have to completely avoid talking about the winner of mens slalom. Great summary though
    mfjaegersr
  • rogerwrogerw Posts: 28 Baller
    who won the mens slalom?
    B_Sschafer
  • wawaskrwawaskr Posts: 367 Crazy Baller
    I see the so called winner had sponsor stickers on his ski - thought some of these companies dumped him? I will not support these sponsors.
    Matt
    mfjaegersr
  • HortonHorton Posts: 31,482 Administrator
    Correction on Tom Poole. I think he got to the wakes with the handle but did not have it when he passed the exit gates. I think the judges got it right bit reviewing the rule book I can not find the rule to clarify it. Below is only 1/2 of the puzzle.

    http://www.iwsf.com/dbheadlines/headlinefiles/World rules 2019.pdf
    14.07: Scoring Buoys
    The intent of the tight line is to ensure the safety of the skier. This means that if the skier can onlycross the line of the buoys with a slack line then he will not get the full point so there is no reason totry that. The end gate case is different because of the spacing and thus if the skier can cross the gate line before the end gate buoy and ski away he will be awarded the full buoy. This specifically means that the skier is permitted to have slack going through the exit gates. If the skier skis away then they may continue. If the skier does not ski away, the turn ends and the skier scores 6 provided they crossed the line of the boat buoys before the end gate with or without a slack line. The skier may exit the gate with slack line.

    Support BallOfSpray by supporting the companies that support BallOfSpray

    Connelly ★ DBSkis ★ Denali ★ Follow ★ Goode ★ GiveGo ★ HO Syndicate ★ MasterCraft

    Masterline ★ Performance Ski and Surf★ Reflex★ Radar★ Rodics OffCourse ★ Stokes

     

  • Bruce_ButterfieldBruce_Butterfield Posts: 2,021 Member of the BallOfSpray Hall Of Fame
    This seems to be a possible hole in the rules where "completing the pass" is not clearly defined and may be open to interpretation:

    A piece you left out of IWSF 14.07 is ".... If the skier does not ski away, the turn ends and the skier scores 6 provided they crossed the line of the boat buoys before the end gate with or without a slack line. The skier may exit the gate with slack line.
    A gate is not scored in any manner"

    I couldn't find anything in IWSF rules related to opt ups, but from AWSA rules (bold mine):

    10.06
    F. Opting Up.
    1. After completing a pass, a skier may advance two or more intervals
    either faster and/or shorter.
    2. If the skier elects to opt up in this manner then the skier must complete
    the selected pass to receive credit for the skipped pass(es).
    If the pass is
    not completed the skier will receive credit for buoys at what would have
    been the first immediately sequential skipped speed, or the first immediately
    sequential skipped line length, if the speed selected is the same.

    So the interpretation part is what constitutes a completed pass? In my judgement a score of 6 constitutes a completed pass, continuation or not. I can see (but disagree with) a judge who interprets the rule as the skier must "continue" to receive to receive credit for passes skipped. I believe the correct score should have been [email protected]

    @klindy ?

    In this case it didn't matter since the cutoff was [email protected], but if the cutoff had been [email protected], he would have had solid grounds to challenge the score.
    I'm Ancient. WTH do I know?
  • HortonHorton Posts: 31,482 Administrator
    Richelle?????

    Support BallOfSpray by supporting the companies that support BallOfSpray

    Connelly ★ DBSkis ★ Denali ★ Follow ★ Goode ★ GiveGo ★ HO Syndicate ★ MasterCraft

    Masterline ★ Performance Ski and Surf★ Reflex★ Radar★ Rodics OffCourse ★ Stokes

     

  • randy menyrandy meny Posts: 57 Baller
    Nate Smith won mens slalom, my guess is he will dominate this year!!!
    rogerwgmutB_S
  • KelvinKelvin Posts: 1,310 Mega Baller
    @Bruce_Butterfield @Horton I believe the AWSA rule on the completed pass was add a couple of years ago to address this exact situation after the rules were changed to allow for a score of 6 without riding thru the exit gates with a tight line. I believe it happened to @skidawg. Not sure there is an IWWF equivalent rule. Depending on where a skier lets go of the rope, it does leave open for interpretation the question of a "completed" pass.
    Kelvin Kelm, Lakes of Katy, Katy Texas
    skidawg
  • KelvinKelvin Posts: 1,310 Mega Baller
    The WSTIMS scoring program used in the US has a check box for the entrance gates, number of buoys and the exit gates. In this situation, if the majority of the judges give credit for the exit gates, the score is [email protected], if the majority of the judges do not give credit for the exit gates, the score is [email protected]
    Kelvin Kelm, Lakes of Katy, Katy Texas
  • HortonHorton Posts: 31,482 Administrator
    My assumption is that you need to use multiple rules on this and the phrase completed pass is key

    Support BallOfSpray by supporting the companies that support BallOfSpray

    Connelly ★ DBSkis ★ Denali ★ Follow ★ Goode ★ GiveGo ★ HO Syndicate ★ MasterCraft

    Masterline ★ Performance Ski and Surf★ Reflex★ Radar★ Rodics OffCourse ★ Stokes

     

    auskier
  • Bruce_ButterfieldBruce_Butterfield Posts: 2,021 Member of the BallOfSpray Hall Of Fame
    @kelvin it seems WSTIMS is not consistent with IWSF 14.07 ".... If the skier does not ski away, the turn ends and the skier scores 6 provided they crossed the line of the boat buoys before the end gate with or without a slack line. The skier may exit the gate with slack line.
    A gate is not scored in any manner"

    AWSA rules are silent on the exit gates and only state "the skier must complete the selected pass to receive credit for the skipped pass(es)"

    So it comes back to the interpretation of "completed pass". This is probably something the rules committee should take on to ensure WSTIMS is consistent with the intent and wording of the rules. Should be a lively discussion.
    I'm Ancient. WTH do I know?
  • HortonHorton Posts: 31,482 Administrator
    yeah. Richelle should really work on this.

    Support BallOfSpray by supporting the companies that support BallOfSpray

    Connelly ★ DBSkis ★ Denali ★ Follow ★ Goode ★ GiveGo ★ HO Syndicate ★ MasterCraft

    Masterline ★ Performance Ski and Surf★ Reflex★ Radar★ Rodics OffCourse ★ Stokes

     

    Mateo_Vargas
  • GloersenGloersen Posts: 1,169 Mega Baller
    imo re AWSA rules:

    6 buoys (10.12-2 a./b.), but incomplete pass (no end gates, implied by 10.13 B, not an 11.25m score for placement) = 12m score.

    Had he popped the handle after exiting gates = 11.25m score – (complete pass – no continuation).

    No doubt the ASWA rules could stand to be tweaked for complete clarification.

Sign In or Register to comment.