Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

They are taking away my lake!!!

Hey everyone,
This is my first time posting on here ( a lengthy one too, I apologize) but I'm looking for help on my local lake issue. It's not a ski lake, just a public lake I live on. Quick background on the lake. It use to be a city lake but once the city built a new one a file miles away they stopped caring about this lake and let us do what we want. It's been unregulated for the past 30+ years. A developer bought some 200+ acres on the south side of the lake and is putting in apartments and shops and now the government sees a chance to make money from the lake again. Worried about the lake traffic I went to the town hall meeting when they were discussing it to ask how the would control traffic only to be given the worst answer I expected. They plan on doing engine and speed restrictions. I asked the city council point blank "so your telling I have lake in my backyard that I can no longer ski on?" Their reply was yes.

I'm hoping to get some ideas from everyone to help me fight it or convince them otherwise. I have a few arguments and I feel a few valid reason.

1. They are making it a less desirable lake to live by/around. My wife had been talking to a family that put a offer on a house across the lake. After the meeting my wife informed them about the upcoming lake restrictions. The family is now in deep consideration if they want to continue through with the purchase. I feel this would be a good example of what selling property around the lake would become.