Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How can .001" or even .005" make a difference?

SlalomSteveSlalomSteve Posts: 84 Baller
edited November 2020 in Skis Fins Bindings
First a quick clear-cut question: when making fin adjustments to the thousandths, is it only ever in increments of .005" (so the final measurement ends up at .xx0" or .xx5"), or are there people ending up with measurements like .xx3"?

Then the real question: I am fairly new to course skiing, and have yet to learn much about fin adjustments, but I certainly plan to, as I really like the gear/tech side of things.
But I have to confess: I don't understand how moving a fin .001" or even .005" could make a difference in performance. An average human hair is about .003." So we're talking an adjustment of roughly the width of a single strand of hair… intuitively, it just doesn't make sense to me.

I am curious to hear people's subjective opinions, but most especially if there's any definitive "lab testing" that shows what difference, if any, can come from such a tiny adjustment. And maybe a scientific explanation to replace my unscientific intuition of how that's possible.

Thanks!
MC_Rainbow_86

Comments

• Than_BoganThan_Bogan Posts: 6,898 Mega Baller
    edited November 2020
    To my intuition, it makes no sense that even 5 hundreths would really matter, but all you have to do is try that with a standard fin, and you'll see it dramatically changes your ski -- may even render it almost unskiable.

But does a thousandth really matter? That's less clear. I am pretty confident that 1/10,000th can't matter, because the expansion of 7" of aluminum under a few degrees temp change is on that order of magnitude.