Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Restringing a handle

Hi All, I've had this Masterline floating handle (1.045 dia) for 3 years now and I'm thinking of getting it restrung. The grip is a little worn down where fingers hit and doesn't seem to be quite as grippy as it was.

I've never done this before... will it be worth the effort and cost? I'm assuming that rotating the handle 180 degrees will be OK with the lettering facing forward ?

Here are few pictures of my handle.

Comments

• bigtex2011bigtex2011 Posts: 558 Crazy Baller
    masterline will do for like 35 bucks if you dont want to fool with it
  • dbutcherdbutcher Posts: 454 Crazy Baller
    Lettering facing either way is fine, but it is a lot of work and time to restring. There is a skier in Oklahoma who does re-stringing for a reasonable price. He does a lot of it and is very good at it. But by the time you pay freight both ways, I'd buy a new one. The reduced grippiness will be improved by rotating 180 degrees, but some of it is age of the rubber (my opinion). Your handle in its current state looks like it has one more season left in it. Rough it up with some sandpaper and try it. Otherwise buy a new one.
    gsm_peterBruce_Butterfield
  • Ski_DadSki_Dad Posts: 480 Baller
    I hear you, I was debating getting a new one - It's 65.00 + shipping for Masterline to redo it. I thought about getting a new 1.03 handle. I do like how this handle floats - not a big deal for me but for the kids it helps out.
  • RGilmoreRGilmore Posts: 89 Baller
    @Ski_Dad Get a new handle for yourself and keep this one for the kids. It should last many more years, cuz they're not the ones who have been wearing it out :) Rough up with 150 grit sandpaper and let it live out the rest of its life in its forever home.
  • thagerthager Posts: 5,136 Mega Baller