Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

12" White Stickers
BallOfSpray $5 Donation
BallOfSpray $10 Donation

Dean Tom Murphy - NCWSA Hall of Fame

BroussardBroussard Posts: 513 Crazy Baller
edited February 22 in News & Other Stuff
Dean Tom Murphy has been selected for induction in the National Collegiate Water Ski Association Hall of Fame. The Bear Bryant of collegiate water skiing, Dean Murphy is the winningest coach in the history of the sport and is credited with bringing 10 national championships to Northeast Louisiana University in Monroe.

Murphy brought legitimacy to collegiate skiing securing school support in the form of funding, transportation, and talent scholarships. He truly believed in the concept of team skiing, stressing that championships are won as a team, not by individuals.

Murphy was integral in the establishment of the collegiate water ski national championships. Prior to 1979 ski teams only competed regionally. When members of the NLU ski team proposed the idea of a national tournament, Murphy agreed and garnered support for the event from the University and the City of Monroe. The team hosted the first National Intercollegiate Water Ski Tournament on Bayou DeSiard in October of 1979.

The landscape of collegiate water skiing today would be unrecognizable had it not been for Dean Tom Murphy.

Andre Broussard | SkiBama Team Captain | SkiBennetts |


Sign In or Register to comment.