Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

moomba outback

6balls6balls Posts: 5,134 ★★★Triple Panda Award Recipient ★★★
edited May 2011 in Skis Fins Bindings
Skied a Moomba Outback tonight...bought by a friend w/109 hours. Handles nice, really wide, spacious open bow, adequate power w/the carb 310...but man the wake at 28 off 34 mph was stiff. Better shorter and not much spray...but it felt like my buddies Response LX at 28 off the time he forgot to raise the wedge.
Dave Ross--die cancer die

Comments

• Ed_ObermeierEd_Obermeier Posts: 1,339 Crazy Baller
    What year? I have extensive experience skiing and driving one belonging to a friend, however it's a 2000 model. Never noticed the 28 off wake being an issue. Some bump at 22 but reasonably soft IMO and really good pretty much everywhere else. I've always thought the Outback was a pretty under rated and under appreciated slalom boat FWIW. A little weight in the nose might help.

Ed
    Ed Obermeier - owner, EZ-Slalom Course Systems
    www.ez-slalom.com
  • oldnslooldnslo Posts: 1
    Ed -- my friend bought a 2000 Outback last season. Strangest boat I ever rode in or behind -- It won't track level -- always seems to be searching, trying to ride on the left hull surface or the right hull surface -- This is very disconcerting to driver and skiier alike. Also - when at rest, if it gets any significant cross wake, it takes water over the bow. This is a good looking, seemingly well cared for boat that runs great. The only obvious non-stock item is the addition of a trim-tab on the transom -- We thought about removing the trim tab but a current Moomba dealer told us it would be crazy to do so. Frankly, running with the tab up or down doesn't make much difference. Any thoughts. thanks.
  • 6balls6balls Posts: 5,134 ★★★Triple Panda Award Recipient ★★★