Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Slalom Boat with center/forward driving position

Dacon62Dacon62 Posts: 701 Crazy Baller
After reading the Wake Tractor thread my mind couldn't help but explore how a center/forward drivers position slalom boat might be configured. @Edbrazil mentioned he had approached Rob Shirley with the center drive idea way back. Don't know what his version would have looked like but I'm guessing not like the one below?
Benefits...moving the driver, passengers and fuel load forward should allow the engine mass to be moved backwards to keep everything balanced. This would also allow more passengers in front of the pylon and be a more social arrangement.
I am not an engineer or much of an artist but before you reach for your barf bags consider how strange a crew cab short box truck looked when they first came out. Now it is a long box regular cab truck, that used to be the norm, that looks odd to the eye.

Could be easily optioned with ballast for other large wake sports.

WishALPJr

Comments

• EdbrazilEdbrazil Posts: 1,396 Historical Baller
    edited October 2015
    vs. V-drive: I remember the Infinity ski boats (Rob Shirley's 2nd effort) had a "backward" engine
    in about the normal inboard engine location. With a gear unit to re-direct to a drive shaft that
    was at a flatter angle than the typical inboard.
    I remember Rob's reply about a center-drive boat: "Show me an order". Of course, in those
    days, I/we didn't have the buck$ to fund an R&D experimental boat. But, I sure liked my center-
    drive Crosby twin rig that I had in the late 1960's--early 1970's. Although it was a good bit of
    a beast in the handling category.
  • GOODESkierGOODESkier Posts: 1,107 Crazy Baller
    I was going to type the word ... "INFINITY" ........