Need some slalom technique advice

kirkbauerkirkbauer Posts: 59 Baller
OK, please be gentle. Even though I've been skiing for almost 40 years now, I took a 30 year break, and am only just getting back into it. I have a new boat, new ski, I'm out of shape, etc, etc. Also, I have never done a course before, and, unfortunately, probably won't be doing one any time soon.

But, what I would like to do is work on my technique for getting better and quicker cuts. I took a video today and I hesitantly am sharing it (because I'm probably doing all kinds of things wrong). Feel free to skip to the half-way mark -- the beginning of the video I was waiting for some smoother water.

The first thing I notice is my hands/arms. I do this thing where I lift them up, trying to manage the slack in the rope from the turn. It doesn't seem right to be, but I'm unclear what I should be doing instead?

PS - I'm skiing at 32mph, and the rope length I picked to put me in the best spot for wake crossing at this speed. However, for this video, I have a bunch of extra people in the boat, so the wake shifted, and therefore I'm not crossing at the best possible spot.
2Valve

Comments

• WishWish Posts: 8,587 ★★★Triple Panda Award Recipient ★★★
    edited July 10
    Ski taller. And then ski taller. And finally ski taller.

Seriously though, try to get much taller (stacked). If u have to take a few steps back like shorter width from side to side do so.

Whip drills and Lean drills will help too. .

Whip drill

Lean drill

The taller (more stacked) u r in the Lean drill will be felt by how far up on the side of the boat u get. Lose the stack and you will drop back. Regain it and u will move further forward up in the boat.

And when u get better at it, you will find skiing to be physically easier on your body while the ski travels faster then when u were not.
    >>> 11.25..a different kettle of fish. <<<
    GloersenMISkierReallyGottaSki
  • jjackkrashjjackkrash Posts: 1,243 Mega Baller